A New Year, A New Day

Do you make New Year’s resolutions?  I don’t.  Well, I don’t do it publicly.  And I’m not planning on starting now.  This post is not going to be about how I’m going to lose weight, go to the gym regularly, try to be more punctual, start giving more, eat less sweets, drink more water, eat more veggies, vacuum the carpet more often… or a number of other things I could or should be doing or not doing.  Am I already perfect and don’t need to change anything about me and my life.  Heck no, far from it.  However, I like who I am and I’m not too terribly upset about the extra 10 pounds I carry around.  I’m not going to use the start of a year to state the things that I need to be considering all year.

What this post will be about is being grateful for the year that just finished.  Our two married children celebrated their first anniversaries and two more of our sons proposed to their girl friends.  My husband and I both found full time employment.  We are no longer having to get our health insurance through Obamacare and I feel especially blessed that while on Obamacare we did not have to use that insurance, as it was truly a catastrophic policy only.  The high deductibles would have had to be put on the credit card if we had needed to use it.  My mother-in-law came through a difficult health issue and while she is still dealing with it, she is not in pain anymore and I am so thankful for that.  Second son found a good job last spring just in the nick of time and his girl friend is truly enjoying being a nanny to a little guy who has blossomed under her care.  I’m appreciative of the stories my daughter shares with me about how much the parents of her students appreciate her.  It does a momma good to hear the effects her daughter is having on her students.  I’ve enjoyed having our youngest son still living at home even though we don’t see a lot of him.  Just knowing he’s sleeping under the same roof is heartwarming.

I hope and pray that my children’s jobs remain stable.  I hope for a couple of them, that they are able to find more secure and/or lucrative employment.  I hope that my engaged sons and their fiances are able to plan their weddings without incurring too much stress and/or debt.  I pray that my family has continued good health.  I plan on working hard at my job so that my supervisor is glad she hired me.  And I wish for world peace.  Happy New Year to one and all!

Leave a Reply

