the post without a title!

It’s Wednesday, the day’s almost over and I am only just now getting around to my post.  Parenting is today’s topic, but I first want to say that my evil “Make the preschool realize how value I am” scheme only partly worked.

So, I was at work and no one said anything about needing me tomorrow.  It seems that me signing up for the Thursday, Friday district gig wasn’t as necessary as I thought it would be.  I mean, I need the work, so it’s a good thing I signed up for it, but it didn’t play out the way I thought it would.  What did happen, though, was at the end of the day when I was clocking out, I asked the director if she knew of any days she needed me at the preschool.  She seemed to think she had already given me some dates.  I replied that I had worked all the days she had requested and that was why I was asking if she knew of any more days so I could put them on my calendar.  She quickly said, “Well, we could use you every Wednesday in December.”  That’s because of the two new students who go on Mondays and Wednesdays.  I said, “Okay, I can do that.”  Then I asked, “What about Monday’s?  Have you got that covered already?”  She thought a moment and then checked with one of the teachers and came back and said, sort of sheepishly, “Can you work Mondays in December, too?”  I said, “Sure, but what are you going to do in January when you need me on Tuesdays and Thursdays?  I can only do two days?”

That was the point where I made my value known.  Not much good it did me.  She shrugged her shoulders and said she’ll figure something out.

On to parenting now; I’m excited that two of my sons will be in town this weekend with their girlfriends and of course their doggies, four altogether.  I know, I know, it was just Thanksgiving and both of the boys were here but only one of these two girl friends was here and three of the doggies.  I think Oldest son’s reason for coming into town was for a super, duper gun and knife show he wants to go to.  Today is that girlfriend’s birthday so I need to find a little gift for her.  I think I’ll do that on the way home from the high school tomorrow.

Second son has a final to take in town.  He has another one the following weekend and then he graduates with his Masters of Science in Finance.  It’s kind of crazy that he has a final the day before commencement.  Are they so sure the students will pass and be able to graduate?  Does the professor stay up late grading papers and show up at commencement and bar anyone who failed from walking?  Hopefully, we won’t find out it’s the second scenario.  He’s a very smart kid, ok, so he’s not a kid, but he is very smart and I’m sure he’ll pass.

Youngest son made it safely across the country to do his field work.  The weather is very, very cold there.  I was very worried about him driving on ice and snow and the two hour drive turned into a four hour drive, but he made it.  Hopefully, the weather will clear up when he comes home in two weeks.

Alright, I have to be at the high school tomorrow earlier than I’ve been waking up this week, so I better hit the hay soon.  Hope the universe is treating you all well.  I can’t complain.

Leave a Reply

