Parenting post 17

Wednesday topic:  parenting.  Let’s see, I’ll just write what’s going on today and that should cover it.  It’s just after 8 am and I woke up about 10 minutes ago.  I decided to get my blog post done right off the bat instead of waiting until the last few hours of the day like I did last night.  What with everything I need to accomplish today and with kids coming in from out of town I’m sure I’d either forget to write it later or just plum run out of time in the day.

For starters, I need to clean up any clutter that’s around.  With each kid and doggie arriving for the holiday we will have more than enough clutter to go around so I don’t need any unnecessary clutter to begin with.  (Is clutter ever necessary?  I doubt it, but it somehow gathers on every surface in my home.)  Then I need to clean the bathrooms, wash any and all towels, kitchen and bath included.  Wash our clothes, then wash Youngest son’s clothes.  (Yes, he could do it and he does when I’m not around, but I like doing things for my kids.)  For some reason I like all the laundry to be done before out of town guests arrive.  I can’t stand needing to do laundry while we have guests.

I need to bake two pies today, pumpkin and apple.  The pie shells will be from scratch, but the fillings are from a can.  Well, the apple filling never fills the pie shell, so I always add some fresh apple slices to beef it up a little.  The pumpkin pie always has the opposite effect; the filling tends to run over the edges and there’s still some left in the mixing bowl!  I did the grocery shopping yesterday, but you can bet your sweet tushie I forgot something and may have to make a quick run today.  However, quick will not describe the trip because after all, it is the day before Thanksgiving and the store will be packed and the shelves will be empty of the one item I need and I’ll have to go to at least three stores to find it.

For dinner on the eve before Thanksgiving, I like to cook a big pot of homemade chili and a pan of cornbread.  I have been doing this pretty much my whole married life so that I have leftover cornbread for the dressing I will make tomorrow.  Mmmm, just thinking of it makes my mouth water.  It’s my mom’s recipe, not that it’s an actual recipe, but it’s how I remember her making it and I like doing things that make me think of her.

I need to vacuum and sweep and I noticed a sticky spot on the floor in front of the fridge last night, so I imagine I should mop, too.  In between all of that I’ll need to make and/or eat a couple of meals, take a shower, get dressed and give my mother-in-law a quick call to see how she’s doing.

I guess that about wraps it up.  Then I’ll be able to sit back and relax and wait for my kiddos and grand-doggies to get here; yeah right!  They’ll start arriving midday and I’ll be running around like a chicken with its head cut off (old saying my mom used to say.)  Second son, his girlfriend and their dog are due early afternoon.  Daughter, son-in-law and their dog are due late afternoon.  Oldest son and his two doggies are due about noon tomorrow.  Middle son and daughter-in-law will just be coming for dinner around 4 tomorrow.  Youngest son has been in town for the last couple of weeks and doesn’t have to leave til next week.

Oops, I forgot about the photo project I’ve been working on.  I am scanning all the photos we’ve ever taken (over 35 years worth) onto my computer.  I have been taking them out of albums and putting them into plastic shoe boxes to take up less room.  I also have a lot of photos that never got into albums and it’s really hard sometimes to tell what year they are from.  It takes a lot of detective work to figure it our and even then sometimes it has to go into the miscellaneous pile until further detecting can be done. The main reason I’m doing this is to transfer them to flash drives to give to all the kids so that they each have all these photos from our past.  I’m hoping to have this done by Christmas and that be my gift to them.  Yes, that is something that I’ve been wanting to do anyway, but having the goal to do it by Christmas has been the only way to prompt me to actually do it and it makes an inexpensive gift and money is tight!  It is also a gift of love as the hours and I do mean hours it has taken sorting and scanning the pictures have brought back so many fond memories.  Anyway, this project is part of the clutter I need to make disappear, but I really wanted to get those last few years scanned into the computer today, probably not gonna happen today.  Oh well, maybe next week.

Ok, if I don’t get off this computer and start on all these tasks, they surely won’t get done.  Off I go…

Leave a Reply

