Parenting

Parenting is my joy.  When I was five I wanted to be a ballerina.  I never took dance, but I imagined being a ballerina would be wonderful.  When I was a pre-teen I wanted to be an oceanographer.  I think I’d seen a Jacques Cousteau special on tv.  When I was in my teens I no longer thought about oceanography, but I didn’t have any special desires.  I just knew that I did not want to do office work.  I worked various jobs in the food industry, a warehouse, in a grocery store and then don’t you know, an office.

About that time I got married.  We waited a few years before having kids.  I’ve always loved being a parent but I don’t think I really appreciated it until now, until I could look back over the years and realize that it’s the best job I ever had.

I used to say, “Everyone has a secret talent, I just haven’t found out what mine is yet.”  Well, I think I know now, being a mom, not that I have an amazing talent at it, it’s just the best talent that I have and I love it.

Today’s post is short and sweet because I was late getting yesterday’s post finished so I wanted to get today’s done today.

I’m off to mother my preschoolers now 🙂

Laura and Roland circa 1970 maybe - Copy around the time of my oceanography desire days

Leave a Reply

