It’s Thursday, no oops again!

Ok, I’m officially back on track, getting my posts done a day ahead and scheduling them out.  I’m feeling good about it.  I am also feeling good because I SURVIVED my first day of subbing for the school district yesterday!!!!!!!!

Yes, I did it.  The kids did not wear me down.  Well, I was pretty worn out, but they were great kids.  They were third graders, just old enough to be a little clever, but young enough to be adorably sweet and helpful.  I know they took advantage of me somewhat.  I’m sure they don’t normally ask to go to the bathroom as often as they did, but they asked so sweetly, how could I say no?  I kept it under control by not letting them go together,  And if they asked right after a scheduled bathroom break I made them wait a while.

The class had twenty-two students, but one was out.  By the end of the day, I had all of their names memorized!  Can you believe that?  I mean, I’m 54 and a brain that age is at the point where it needs to be exercised to keep it sharp.  I believe the subbing will be giving my brain plenty of exercise.

I didn’t get any comments on yesterday’s post, so I guess that means I don’t have any teachers or substitute teachers following me.  But I know I have parents though, so speak up if you have any suggestions for me, anything negative that a sub did or said to your kid that I should be sure to avoid saying?

By the way, Happy Halloween!  I’ll be subbing in a 2nd grade class today.  I wonder if they’ll have a class party and eat tons of sugar and start climbing the walls?  Maybe that’s why the teacher scheduled off!  Yikes!  You’ll have to wait ’til Monday to find out if I survive that!

Leave a Reply

