Tuesday, Tuesday

It’s Tuesday, another day subbing at the preschool.  I did get a call yesterday from the school district letting me know that I was cleared for working; my fingerprints did not reveal any deep, dark secrets.  I’ll probably swing by the office to get my ID badge after work today.  Even though I may not pick up any jobs right away, I can go ahead and log into the system and figure out how to go about lining jobs up in advance.

Today’s topic is supposed to be about education.  I think I’ll share quotes I like that have something to do with education or learning.  The first one  I put on my kids’ high school graduation announcements and the next two were quotes that I put on their high school diplomas.

“I have never let my schooling interfere with my education.”

Mark Twain

“It is a miracle that curiosity survives formal education.”

Albert Einstein

“Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence.”

Robert Frost

“Do not train a child to learn by force or harshness; but direct them to it by what amuses their minds, so that you may be better able to discover with accuracy the peculiar bent of the genius of each.”

Plato

“Self-education is, I firmly believe, the only kind of education there is.”

Isaac Asimov

“When you take the free will out of education, that turns it into schooling.”

John Taylor Gatto

“Total non-retention has kept my education from being a burden to me.”

Flannery O’Connor

 

“Wisdom is not a product of schooling but of the lifelong attempt to acquire it.”

Albert Einstein

“Intelligence plus character-that is the goal of true education.”

Martin Luther King Jr.

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

Mahatma Gandhi

“I don’t love studying. I hate studying. I like learning. Learning is beautiful.”

Natalie Portman

“[Kids] don’t remember what you try to teach them. They remember what you are.”

Jim Henson

“Study without desire spoils the memory, and it retains nothing that it takes in.”

Leonardo da Vinvi

“Thank goodness I was never sent to school; it would have rubbed off some of the originality.”

Beatrix Potter

“Eragon looked back at him, confused. “I don’t understand.”

“Of course you don’t,” said Brom impatiently. “That’s why I’m teaching you and not the other way around.”

Christopher Paoliini

“Earth and sky, woods and fields, lakes and rivers, the mountain and the sea, are excellent schoolmasters, and teach some of us more than we can ever learn from books.”

John Lubbock

“Give a bowl of rice to a man and you will feed him for a day. Teach him how to grow his own rice and you will save his life.”

Confucius

“I believe that what we get out of life is what we’ve set ourselves up to get, so there’s no such thing as an inconsequential decision. Our destinies are the culmination of all the choices we’ve made along the way, which is why it’s imperative to listen hard to your inner voice when it speaks up.

Don’t let anyone else’s noise drown it out.”

Megan McCafferty

And last, but certainly not least:

“Ideally, what should be said to every child, repeatedly, throughout his or her school life is something like this: ‘You are in the process of being indoctrinated. We have not yet evolved a system of education that is not a system of indoctrination. We are sorry, but it is the best we can do. What you are being taught here is an amalgam of current prejudice and the choices of this particular culture. The slightest look at history will show how impermanent these must be. You are being taught by people who have been able to accommodate themselves to a regime of thought laid down by their predecessors. It is a self-perpetuating system. Those of you who are more robust and individual than others will be encouraged to leave and find ways of educating yourself — educating your own judgements. Those that stay must remember, always, and all the time, that they are being moulded and patterned to fit into the narrow and particular needs of this particular society.”

Doris Lessing

How about sharing your favorite education quote in the comment section?

For more quotes try these websites:

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/education

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/a/albert_einstein_4.html#gL3rSbGf3yUpTK50.99

Leave a Reply

