Fingerprinting Today!

ShowImage.aspx

I have my appointment today to get fingerprinted and undergo a criminal background check in order to substitute for my local school district.  The results could take 2 to 4 days to come in.  That means that by the end of this week, I should have my ID badge and log in and be able to begin accepting subbing jobs!

I subbed two days for the preschool last week and am scheduled for two, possibly three days next week with them.  The director let me know that in January a teacher in the classroom for the youngest kids (14 to 18 months) will be taking a maternity break for the rest of the school year and if I want to fill in for the remainder of the year (two days a week) the job is mine.  I didn’t answer her, yet, but I really don’t want to take the spot for two reasons.  Firstly, my reason for subbing instead of looking for a more permanent position is so that if we decide to move out of town I won’t fill so bad quitting the job.  I hate to commit to the preschool and then lose that flexibility or worse make them have to find a replacement for the replacement if we do move next spring.  Secondly, in the event that we don’t move, the amount of money I make at the preschool is only about 60% of what I can make subbing for the district.  So, while I don’t mind subbing for the preschool on an as needed basis if a teacher is sick or needs a day off, I don’t necessarily want to spend two days of very week from January to May working for so much less than I could make for the school district.

Anyone out there a substitute teacher and have any tips?  Any wise words to help prepare me?

 

Leave a Reply

