A Day to Remember

Today is the anniversary of 9/11.  It’s hard to believe that it has been a dozen years since 9/11.  Even so, it’s one of those things that became etched in people’s memories.

I was getting ready to head out of the door to lead a monthly breastfeeding support meeting for mothers of nursing toddlers so I know it was a Tuesday.  I got a phone call telling me about a plane crashing into the World Trade Center, so I turned on the television.  Hearing that it was an American Airlines plane, I quickly checked on my sister who works for them.  She was not anywhere near there, thank goodness.

I decided it was too late to cancel the meeting so I went ahead and went to it taking my daughter with me.  This was the year that my youngest son had enrolled in the local school district in the 5th grade and I had already taken him to school.  I asked one of my teenage sons to try to go up to the school and see if they would release him.  It took a while, but they did let him go.

Arriving at the meeting, I didn’t expect many mothers to show and after a short discussion about what was going on we disbanded.  My daughter and I met my other kids at a local cafeteria for lunch.  We were in a sort of stupor not knowing what the events of the morning may bring to our part of the country, but wanting to hold on to some normalcy as long as we could.  I was glad to be, for the most part, a homeschooling family, having my kids nearby.  I have such sadness for the families who lost loved ones that day.  It was just such a tremendous tragedy.

What were you doing when you heard about 9/11?  How were you affected by the happenings that day?

Leave a Reply

