Education or lack thereof

If I keep this blog up and I sincerely hope to do so, I will write a variety of posts about Education or the Lack there of.  My thoughts on education go from one end of the spectrum to the other.  I actually enjoyed school growing up, but school doesn’t always equal education or at least one that is beneficial.  By the time I graduated high school, I was so tired of school that I had no intention of going to college.  I knew my mom wanted me to go, but she didn’t insist on it.  My older sister (older by nine years) still hadn’t graduated college and I had no plans to spend another 9 years going to school, no way.  She’d been working her way through school.  I don’t know if she ever did go back and get those last few credits for her degree.  Not me.  I told my mom that if I knew what I wanted out of college I’d go, but I wasn’t about to just start taking classes and end up like my sister, nine years in and still no degree.  She told me she thought I’d make a good lawyer.  Not interested.  She didn’t show me any catalogs or discuss different degree plans or take me to visit a campus at least not during regular classes.  She did sign up for a piano class and she suggested another sister of mine and I sign up for guitars classes with the University’s adult learning program.  She was modeling what she wanted for me.  I appreciate that.  I think she was hoping we’d like being on the college campus and consider taking real classes.  I had to borrow a friend’s guitar, not really a close friend, just a friend from down the block who I’d gone to school with my whole life and somehow I knew he had a guitar so I asked him if I could borrow it for this nine week class.  One day while tuning the guitar I tightened the strings too much and the bridge popped off.  It took me over a year to tell him about it.  At some point during the year, the guy asked for his guitar back; I stalled with some lame excuse.  I didn’t have the guts to tell him what had happened.  I tried taking it to a guitar repair shop and the guy almost laughed me out of his store saying it wasn’t worth repairing.  I finally went and bought a cheap guitar and dropped it off at his mom’s house while he wasn’t home.  He called me up and said, “What the crap is this?”  I apologized and explained the whole thing.  He wasn’t very happy.  I think I learned a lesson: don’t borrow things and break them.  Or if you do, don’t put off apologizing about it, fix the situation as soon as possible, face up to your problems.  To me, education is about what you learn not how you learn.  To society, education is a piece of paper saying you learned something whether you did or not.

Leave a Reply

