Employment or Unemployment as the case may be

Unemployment is the case currently.  Not unemployment as in unemployment checks.  Unemployment as in not currently getting a paycheck.  I do have some irons in the fire though.  I’ve got an interview of sorts which may or may not happen at the end of September, but that’s a ways off.  I started this blogging thing last week as an experimental unpaid form of work.  I’m considering it work since I plan on working at it at least 4 days a week.  Last Friday, on my day off, I even did some writing.  I wrote a short story on one of those “write a story based on this photo” webpage contest thingys.  I don’t even know how I came across it.  I somehow got there by hopping, skipping and jumping to it while reading freshly pressed posts here on WordPress or maybe it was reading the blogs of the people who started following me on here (thanks by the way, sure makes me feel good for people to start following me right off the bat, hope I won’t disappoint you.)  When I wanted to get back to the contest page today, I realized that I had not bookmarked it, but I found it in my history and checked to see if I had made the winners list.  No such luck.  Oh well.  I did win a $50 Visa gift card one time for writing an essay.  That was a few years ago.  The topic was Education.  I’m not really counting on this writing thing to pay off anytime soon, or maybe not anytime ever, but I’m still gonna give it a go.  I was offered a job last month.  I turned it down.  I was worried it would limit me.  It was only part time and the pay was a little above minimum wage, but I would have had to commit to it for the whole school year and I just couldn’t do it.  It was at a preschool where I used to work.  I thanked the director for the offer and told her she could put me on her substitute list if she wanted.  The interview at the end of September is actually an orientation for substitutes.  I can get more money subbing 3 days a week for the local school district than working 4 days a week at the preschool.  So if I can sub 4 or even 5 days a week between the school district and the preschool, well, I can make grocery money and pay the bills at least.  Of course, until all this comes about, what little savings we have may get used up.  Ok, I’m tired of discussing employment/unemployment; I’ll get back to it next Monday.  Tomorrow’s topic is Education or Lack of it.

Leave a Reply

